Bloody Thursdays! (4) – Fuzz, Catfish &The Bottle…

Bloody Thursdays

  Jungle International

Fuzz - Raise
Fuzz – Raise

New video for Raise, included in Fuzz debut S/T album. Fuzz, Ty Segall‘s new stoner rock band, released their debut album via In The Red Records on October 1st, 2013. The band was formed in 2011 and consists of Ty Segall (drums/vocals), Charlie Moothart (guitar/vocals), and Chad Ubovich (bass).  

For this side project , Fuzz members have been working in a big variety of weird sounds and influences, taking inspiration from Sabbath and Jimmy Hendrix’s rock to the British progressive blues of The Groundhogs, or Australian guitarist Lobby Lloyde. The album was recorded by Chris Woodhouse (Thee Oh Sees, The Intelligence) and the video directed by Matt Yoka.

Pink Mountaintops - Ambulance City - Bloody Thursdays

Pink Mountaintops – Ambulance City

And we go on with another side project from California, Los Angeles band Pink Mountaintops, by Stephen McBean of Black Mountain. “Ambulance City” is the single from their new album “Get Back”, which will be out on April 29 2014 on Jagjaguwar. Pink Mountaintops will be touring with Band of Horses andMarissa Nadler. WATCH the video for “Ambulance City” here.

Gardens & Villa – Bullet

The video of Gardens & Villa for their single “Bullet Train” is taken from their sophomore album Dunes, released on February 4, 2014 via Secretly Canadian. Gardens & Villa is a five pieces band from Santa Barbara consisting of Chris Lynch, Adam Rasmussen, Levi Hayden, Shane McKillop, and Dusty Ineman. The album is produced by Tim Goldsworthy (Cut Copy, DFA Records, LCD Soundsystem, Hercules & Love Affair) and it has a strong influence of 80’s pop music, being already compared with bands like Duran Duran. Gardens & Villa have just set out on an extensive international and US tour. Video directed by Tony Katai.

Waylayers – Take Hold

London-based three-piece Waylayers‘ new single ‘Take Hold‘ will be released in August 2014. After the release of their 6 track EP entitled ‘Fault Lines‘, which was on US Billboard Top 100, the group is back with this new single and an extensive tour including an appearance at SXSW 2014. 

Streets of Laredo – Lonsdale Line

Animated video for Streets of Laredo‘s sophomore single “Lonsdale Line“, from their “Volume I” EP. With influences by Delta Spirit, We Are Augustines, Fleet Foxes or Grizzly Bear, this indie folk band is one of those unsigned gems that self-releases their work with an extraordinary success. The band is based in Brooklyn, NY and has two published works to date: Vol. I and Vol. II EPs, available  for free download at the band’s website. Video directed and animated by Chris Tucci & Steven Mertens.

My Empire Of Sound – Where Secrets Can´t Be Found

Those who were waiting for My Empire Of Sound debut full lenth will be happy to find the new published work by the Swedish/Danish duo. We would need to go back to January 2011, when we first featured My Empire Of Sound debut single in our blog, which was officialy released later in 2012. Since then we started a count down for a very wished album that has finally arrived on December 2013 via Warsaw Recordings. The Confession Of The Machines is the debut album by Sidsel Marie Søholm and John Alexander Ericson, My Empire Of Sound, a music project that gets well consolidated after a deserved wait.

Catfish And The Bottlemen – Kathleen (Lyric video)

Catfish and the Bottlemen are debuting for Communion/Island Records with their new single ‘Kathleen‘, that will be released on April 14, 2014. This is the fourth single released in the last 12 months and it was produced by Jim Abbiss (Arctic Monkeys’ Whatever People Say I Am). The lyric video, a love letter to Ewan McGregor was edited by Catfish And The Bottlemen front man, Van McCann. Catfish And The Bottlemen are Van McCann (vocals & guitar), Billy Bibby (lead guitar), Benji Blakeway (bass) and Bob Hall (drums).

New Desert Blues - Zachary

New Desert Blues – Zachary

New Desert Blues is an indie rock band from Whiteley, Hampshire in the South coast of the UK. Founded in 2012, the band debuted with the single “Adam” and they are now back with their first EP “Devils Rope“, released on January 20th, 2014. Zachary, Matthew, Christoph and Eli are the four tracks of the EP, that you can stream in full here. Those names doesn’t correspond to the band members but to the characters of a story created by the band for their music as a storytelling. New Desert Blues will be playing at SXSW 2014.

  Jungle Spain

Russian Red – Casper

Music video by Russian Red performing Casper, first single from her forthcoming album Agent Cooper, out on February 27th via Sony Music. The video was recorded at The Pink Motel in Los Angeles and directed by Diego Hurtado de Mendoza.

  Jungle Spain

Boogarins – Lucifernandis

Lucifernandis is the opening song from their debut album “As Plantas Que Curam,” released on October 1st, 2013 via Other Music Recording, and on cassette through Other Music/Burger Records. Boogarins are a brazilian duo from Goiânia, GO, consisting of Fernando Almeida and Benke Ferraz. Both mates met in high school and their music is a symbiosis of indie pop and psichedelic with that brazilian touch of jazzi bossa nova and samba. Brazilian indie pop rock, a genre on itself, elegant, smooth and charming. Boogarins will be playing Fuzzt SXSW 2014 and at Primavera Sound 2014 among other events. An under radar band to keep in mind and a “must see”. This video was directed by Maurélio Toscano.