Trevor and The Joneses

Trevor and The Joneses is a promising rock band from Las Vegas. Founded in 2012 by Trevor Jones, the band combines the classic sound of rock guitars with an impeccable immersion to more underground landscapes. The band has an incredible full-length debut album that remarks their talent as a little gem to follow close.

Trevor and The Joneses - Band

Links: Official | Bandcamp | Facebook  |  Twitter  |  YouTube

   Foundation & Band Members

Trevor and The Joneses was founded in Las Vegas (USA) in 2012 by

  • Trevor Jones (guitars, voice)
  • Chris Montijo (drummings)
  • Joe Lawless (guitars, keys, voice)
  • John Fallon (bass)

Former Members:

  • George Elias (bass)
  • Dale Gilber (bass)

Trevor and The Joneses have influences by The Brian Jonestown Massacre, Oasis, The Replacements, Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers and Styx (early career, before 1977).


During the fall of 2011, Trevor and Chris met at The Blind Tiger in Las Vegas and started playing acoustic shows, with Chris playing on a cajon. With the addition of Joe Lawless(guitar) and Dale Gilbert(bass) on February of 2012, the group played its first show with only about an hours worth of practice the day of.

The band caught the attention of Las Vegas Weekly and they started recording their first work “There Was Lightning” at Chrome Werewolf, being it released on January 22th, 2012. Just one month after this release, Trevor and The Joneses’ song “Grooving at The Speed of Light” was played by Donald Hickey on the Neon Reverb radio program and the band had their first live TV performance on The Morning Blend program on January 2014.

Trevor and The Joneses actual line up comes from the incorporation of George Elias to the band, replacing Dale Gilber on the bass and having his debut with the band on February 2014. Since they started in 2012, Trevor and The Joneses have played roughly 100 shows, including notable opening slots for bands they love, as Joel Gion & The Primary Colours, The Warlocks, Spindrift or Blonde on Blonde.

The band’s first album “The Was Lighting” has recently been released on limited edition purple vinyl via Plane Groovy.



  • Take You To Stay (October 15, 2017)
  • There Was Lightning (Plane Groovy, December 22th, 2012)

Singles and EP’s

  • Out In The Cold (Tom Petty cover. October 4th, 2017)
  • Sneak (Lawless Remix), (May 16th, 2014)
Trevor and The Joneses - Take You to Stay Trevor and The Joneses - There Was Lightning

Recommended track: It’s getting Early


1. How did the band begin?

The band coalesced in January of 2012 after I had moved back to Vegas from a songwriting/demo excursion in Newport Beach, CA. Chris and I were introduced and informed we should play music together in fall of 2011 by Chuck D, the bands’ spirit animal. Joe Lawless(guitar) and Dale Gilbert(bass) joined in February of 2012 and the group played it’s first show Feb 28th with only an hour of practice together the day of…

2. How would you define the sound of the band?

Rock and Roll!

3. Talk us about your last work.

We’ve got one album out so far, There Was Lightning. We recorded it from May to October 2012 at Chrome Werewolf Studio in Las Vegas. It was recorded and engineered by Brian Garth from the band Black Camaro(get their album Black Camaricans). It’s made up mostly of the songs I wrote at the beach the previous year. So far it has been available on CDs that I make by hand but will soon be available on vinyl, making it easier to hear all of the 787 guitars on each track. We’re back in the studio and planning to release two more albums before the end of the year.

4. How are your concerts? What can we find there that we wont find on your studio records?

Spontaneity. Raw-er and rocked out-er. We try new things with the songs live and keep getting better.

5. What do you think about the music industry and what do you think is your place within it?

Within it, without it. In(or around) it, not of it.



On My Mind


This text has been updated (March 2020). The answers to the questions corresponds to the interview that we had with the band in 2014.

– All submmited material copyright by Trevor and The Joneses –